Rainbowfish Species

Click here for Australian Aquarium Fish Keepers
Rainbowfish (Rainbowfishes) are a small colourful group of fish which predominantly are found in Australia and New Guinea, many of the species grow no bigger than 6in (15cm).
  1. Cairnsichthys rhombosomoides (Cairns rainbowfish)
  2. Chilatherina axelrodi (Axelrod’s rainbowfish)
  3. Chilatherina bleheri (Bleher’s rainbowfish)
  4. Chilatherina bulolo (Bulolo rainbowfish)
  5. Chilatherina campsi (Highlands rainbowfish)
  6. Chilatherina crassispinosa (Silver rainbowfish)
  7. Chilatherina fasciata (Barred rainbowfish)
  8. Chilatherina lorentzii (Lorentz’ rainbowfish)
  9. Chilatherina sentaniensis (Sentani rainbowfish)
  10. Glossolepis incisus (Red rainbowfish)
  11. Glossolepis leggetti (Leggett’s rainbowfish)
  12. Glossolepis maculosus (Black-spotted rainbowfish)
  13. Glossolepis multisquamata (Rosy rainbowfish)
  14. Glossolepis pseudoincisus (Tami river rainbowfish )
  15. Glossolepis ramuensis (Ramu rainbowfish)
  16. Glossolepis wanamensis (Lake Wanam rainbowfish)
  17. Iriatherina werneri (Threadfin rainbowfish)
  18. Kiunga ballochi (Balloch’s rainbowfish)
  19. Melanotaenia affinis (New Guinea rainbowfish)
  20. Melanotaenia ajamaruensis (Ajamaru lakes rainbowfish)
  21. Melanotaenia angfa (Yakati rainbowfish)
  22. Melanotaenia arfakensis (Arfak rainbowfish)
  23. Melanotaenia australis (Australian rainbowfish)
  24. Melanotaenia batanta (Batanta rainbowfish)
  25. Melanotaenia boesemani (Boeseman’s rainbowfish)
  26. Melanotaenia caerulea (Blue rainbowfish)
  27. Melanotaenia catherinae (Waigeo rainbowfish)
  28. Melanotaenia corona (Corona rainbowfish)
  29. Melanotaenia eachamensis (Lake Eacham rainbowfish)
  30. Melanotaenia exquisita (Exquisite rainbowfish)
  31. Melanotaenia duboulayi (Duboulay’s rainbowfish)
  32. Melanotaenia fluviatilis (Murray river rainbowfish)
  33. Melanotaenia fredericki (Sorong rainbowfish)
  34. Melanotaenia goldiei (Gold-line rainbowfish)
  35. Melanotaenia gracilis  (Slender rainbowfish)
  36. Melanotaenia herbertaxelrodi (Lake Tebera rainbowfish)
  37. Melanotaenia irianjaya (Irian Jaya rainbowfish)
  38. Melanotaenia iris (Strickland rainbowfish)
  39. Melanotaenia japenensis (Yapen rainbowfish)
  40. Melanotaenia kamaka (Kamaka rainbowfish)
  41. Melanotaenia lacustris (Lake Kutubu rainbowfish)
  42. Marosatherina ladigesi (Celebes rainbowfish)
  43. Melanotaenia lakamora (Lakamora rainbowfish)
  44. Melanotaenia maccullochi (Macculloch’s rainbowfish)
  45. Melanotaenia maylandi (Mayland’s rainbowfish)
  46. Melanotaenia misoolensis (Misool rainbowfish)
  47. Melanotaenia monticola (Mountain rainbowfish)
  48. Melanotaenia mubiensis (Mubi rainbowfish)
  49. Melanotaenia nigrans (Black-banded rainbowfish)
  50. Melanotaenia papuae (Papua rainbowfish)
  51. Melanotaenia parkinsoni (Parkinson’s rainbowfish)
  52. Melanotaenia parva (Lake Kuromai rainbowfish)
  53. Melanotaenia pierucciae (Pierucci’s rainbowfish)
  54. Melanotaenia pimaensis (Pima River rainbowfish)
  55. Melanotaenia praecox (Dwarf rainbowfish)
  56. Melanotaenia pygmaea (Pygmy Rainbowfish)
  57. Melanotaenia ogilbyi (Ogilby’s rainbowfish)
  58. Melanotaenia oktediensis (Oktedi rainbowfish)
  59. Melanotaenia rubripinnis (Red-finned rainbowfish)
  60. Melanotaenia sexlineata (Fly River rainbowfish)
  61. Melanotaenia splendida inornata (Checkered rainbowfish)
  62. Melanotaenia splendida rubrostriata (Red-striped rainbowfish)
  63. Melanotaenia splendida splendida (Eastern rainbowfish)
  64. Melanotaenia splendida tatei (Desert rainbowfish)
  65. Melanotaenia solata (Northern Rainbowfish)
  66. Melanotaenia trifasciata (Banded rainbowfish)
  67. Melanotaenia utcheensis (Utchee rainbowfish)
  68. Melanotaenia vanheurni (Van Heurn’s rainbowfish)
  69. Pseudomugil furcatus (Forktail rainbowfish)
  70. Rhadinocentrus ornatus (Ornate rainbowfish)
  71. Rhadinocentrus rhombosomoides (Cairn’s Rainbowfish)

Comments on this entry are closed.

Next post: